Amy Willett on her Recent Graduation from Yoga Teacher Training

MeWhen Amy started yoga 17 years ago, she considered yoga class “nice music and a big game of Simon Says.” She just finished her 200-hour Yoga Teacher certification in Carlsbad, CA.

To graduate from the Teacher Training, you had to teach a sample of poses to the other teacher candidates. How did you psych yourself up for this?

I was nervous but I thought, “I’m just gonna try it. I’m gonna go for everything. I’m gonna see if that voice inside me wants to come out.” So I tried different things and I went through the imagery. I tend to talk like a hummingbird on a double-caff latte and quickly run through things. But I didn’t want to be in a hurry to move on. I wanted to explain it in the way I want to hear it and the way I want to say it. I think it went well. I loved it.

Did you write a script or improvise the verbal cues?

I’m new at this so I have to build a really good script. I practice on my youngest daughter, Annie, because i’m still trying to find my words. I had maybe five poses that I had to work everybody through. For instance in Bhujangasana, Cobra pose, to take your hands and scrub the mat- to feel like you’re scrubbing the mat away- that’s a really good feeling. I wanted to use cues that indirectly get all the muscles working. I wanted to find those descriptions. It takes me a little while to find how I can articulate it to others. But by the end, I have no script.

How does the practice help your daily life?HersheyPic

I love ujjayi breath. I have two young children and sometimes it’s difficult when they’re working through something on their own. I just want to tell them how to do it. But instead I try to find my breath and my space and just let it be. I don’t have to agree with them or disagree with them. I just let them say what they wanna say and let it have its place. This is something my parents did for me. It takes a lot of work and a lot of pranayama. But I want to do this for my children.

What’s next for you?

Even though i’m officially a teacher, I’m always gonna be a student. And I have to be a really good student in order to be a good teacher. That doesn’t ever stop. So what’s most important for me is to continue to be a good student.

At the end of this journey we think, “What do we do now?” We’re set up to be teachers but I don’t know what the next step really is. Rumi says, “What you seek is seeking you.” So I’m just gonna do my best and hopefully we find each other.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

