Kelley Jhung, Funny Lady, on Self-Worth

  1. One of my favorite quotes is ”Don’t ever compromise yourself. You are all you’ve got,” by Janis Joplin.kelley3

  1. If I didn’t live in Encinitas, I would live in Hawaii because life is slower there. Also, everyone there looks like me.

  1. The opening credits in the movie of my life would have Dylan’s “Shelter from the Storm” as the soundtrack. Life is a storm; when I’m not trying help others, I am seeking it. Here is where life’s greatest lessons are learned—whether seeking or providing shelter.

  1. If my current self could give my high school self advice, I would say, “You are so much better than you think you are. Stop dumbing yourself down and stop being so self-destructive. Get over yourself.”

kelley4

  1. My favorite form of exercise is chasing after a soccer ball. My favorite way to relax is reading with one of my cats asleep in my lap, preferably after having worn myself out on the soccer pitch.

  1. When I’m in another country, my favorite type of store for window shopping is I’m not much of a shopper, but I do like to check out grocery stores in other countries. I’m fascinated by what people eat.

  1. One way in which my life turned out differently than I had imagined is I am happily married. I finally stopped sabotaging my relationships. True story, even for me.

  1. Something I’ve tried to quit many times but haven’t yet succeeded is cutting myself down. See: #4, high school advice. Yeah, I still need to get over that shit.

  1. If my best friend’s kid decided to be a flight attendant, I would feel exhausted because I’d have to do an intervention.kelley2

  1. The last time I cried was when I started a new job I knew wasn’t right for me. I kept my husband up all night. I’ve since quit, and we both sleep better now. (I had to ask, “What job was this?”) I worked as a classroom assistant at a high school. Just for summer. I didn’t tell them I had a teaching credential; I also have my master’s in education/counseling. I am really great at dumbing myself down, as I mentioned. I’d sit and grade papers for hours. It KILLED my back. I spent more money in chiropractors that summer than I made at that job. I did love working with the kids; I think next time I will actually tell my future employers that I have a teaching credential so I can use my brain and make a difference. Man, I am such a piece of work.

Kelley has posted hilarious stories on her blog “Jet Lag: Chronicles of a Recovering Stewardess.”

One comment

  1. Oh, I so love her answer to #3.

    Like

Leave a Reply

