How Do We Uproot Our Lives and Careers if We’re *Mostly* Happy?

GoalHappyLifeSome jobs I’ve had that didn’t make me compromise happiness:

Substitute teacher, kindergarten teacher, track coach, backpacking trip leader, trail crew leader, yoga teacher, dog walker.

But what’s my long-term plan? Sometimes I want to move back to the city and dance more (or go dance in Guinea for a few months.) Sometimes I want to move to the jungles of Borneo to work with orangutans (which would mean going back to school first to get a Vet Tech license, at the very least.) Sometimes I want to move to France, eat wonderful food and learn their language.

I dream of all these things even though I love my current job and life. I don’t necessarily want to be in this same place 10 years from now, and I have the first world problem of so many options and so many interests that I’m paralyzed with indecision.

How does one decide to uproot themselves or change careers? Perhaps it would be easier to do so if I didn’t like my current daily routine of yoga and dogwalking?

4 comments

  1. Great post. Love this.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Madeline, I finally figured out how to acknowledge your note on WordPress. Thank you!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I definitely understand your “problem”. But you’re right that it is also a privilege to be in that situation. The important thing is that you understand you can make changes so you’re not just sitting back and accepting your lot. Good things will come from that starting point. And as someone who has tried and failed to make a life plan many times I also can recommend trying to take one day at a time and trusting your heart and the universe to take you where you’re supposed to go, even if you don’t know where that is.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Amy! Good advice.

      Like

Leave a Reply

