I Get Distracted. (Pictures as Proof.)

FullSizeRenderGardening usually bores me but today I found that scooping dead leaves into a bucket was a pleasant escape from writing. This month has been busy and the less I write, the less I want to write. The more disconnected I feel from the story. My in-laws were in town for three weeks so when I wasn’t at work walking dogs, I was going out for monk bowls at the East Asian Diner.

When they were here I still managed to finish a binge of Breaking Bad. I kept making time (10 minutes here, 20 there) for Jesse and Walt because I always wanted to see what happens in their story. It dawned on me that THAT’s how we need to approach our own writing. We need to get addicted to our own story so we want to see it play out more than anything else.

FullSizeRender (2)I spent the past few months working on one story but recently wanted to put it aside and start another. I complained to my husband, “I’m worried that I’ll be like you trying to make a video game.” As soon as he gets close to finishing one, he gets bored and starts the next. So five years later, he still hasn’t published a game. “We have bad follow-through,” I said. He just laughed and said he wasn’t worried. Zen is great in theory but being married to someone who never gets worked up is disconcerting. (Maybe he has a point.)

IMG_0660Sometimes I get home at 8pm and tell him I need to write a little bit before bed. He says, “No you don’t. You don’t have to write everyday. Come to bed.” So I let him or yoga or gardening or my recent book from the Jonathan Tropper stack distract me. Or playing with my cats. Or an app on my phone that lets me draw circles outlining the body shapes of my cats as they sleep under the comforter. I need more discipline.

 

 

9 comments

  1. Robin Gorsline · · Reply

    Discipline is the issue for me, too–not even sure I should take this time to write this comment, but it helps to know I am not alone. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for writing, Robin! I actually seek out blogs and blog posts where writers complain about the same issues I have. I don’t want to be alone on this island! Glad you’re with me! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. decide writing is important and build your routine around it so that working on writing is easy and occurs naturally.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. You’re right!!! Thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. We are twins who were separated at birth, ha!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Reunited! lol

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I hear you! The only time I have a clean house is when I’ve got *proper* writing to do. I used to joke I should do a PHD cos that way I’d have a clean car as well

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ha! I am practicing mindfulness as we speak… and boy oh boy it is so hard to concentrate on a mantra for 20 minutes without wandering all over the place… definitely takes discipline.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 20 minutes is FOREVER!! haha! you have big goals! 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

