Tricking Myself out of Fear

None of us are strangers to self-doubt and mind-games. This post offers a humorous look into our excuses for not trying/doing and perhaps a solution into overcoming fear. Candy’s post is about writing but it’s the same excuses/fear/cycle for any career, any yoga pose, any life choice.to-grandma-s-house-1228832

Rerighting Life

I was feeling as if life had passed me by and it was too late to do anything truly great. I tuned into an interview of the filmmakerRichard Linklater on NPR, and felt even more of a failure. He’d accomplished so much and I hadn’t. (It’s a great habit comparing yourself to successful people if you want to create paralysis.)

In thinking about my past life, I decided I fell far short of my dreams. I was clueless about what I wanted for my future life. That’s not exactly true. I knew exactly what I wanted but I was terrified I would fail.

After listening to Linklater, I decided to think of my future as a movie. I’ve heard it takes 2-3 years to make one. Rather than plotting out the rest of my life, I’d focus on that short period of time. What would my next movie be?

I began by reviewing what I’d done so far.

View original post 568 more words

One comment

  1. Thank you so much, Rachel. I’m honored to be on your blog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

